Digital Courage Award

FNF Myanmar

Friedrich Naumann Foundation for Freedom (FNF) proudly presents the “Digital Courage Award” for Myanmar’s courageous freedom fighters.

In the past, there were many unsung heroes fighting for rights and freedom of the people in Myanmar. Unknown to the public, they have not received the deserved acknowledgement of and their tales submerged in the tide of history. Mobile technologies have recently increased information access and enabled freedom fighters to reach other people more efficiently. In this way, not only prominent political figures but also normal people have become agents of change in the fight for freedom.

FNF acknowledges the importance of these change agents and the usage of mobile technologies for the transition towards an open society. Therefore, FNF wants to reward their effort and motivate others in their fight for freedom and rights. The Digital Courage Award will be awarded to the most courageous freedom fighters in Myanmar every year

Nomination for the Award

Nominations are accepted by either persons or organizations, but not from the nominee themselves.

If you know a person who has shown their outstanding courage in the digital sphere or by usage of digital technologies, please send the filled out nomination form to or no later than 26th October 2018.

The nomination can also be submitted by filling out this google form.

Eligibility for nomination

The nominee must be a Myanmar citizen or a Myanmar organization, and the nominee must have done something courageous related to digital spaces.

If a nomination meets the above criteria, it will be considered as an eligible nomination and will enter the screening process.

Selection of the Winner

An independent jury will select the eligible nominees and chose the 10 finalists. They will be evaluated by a three components scoring system.

  • Bravery
  • Fight for Freedom
  • Role Model


The jury will select the winner, the first and second runner-up, and they will be invited to the award ceremony on 17 November 2018.

The winner will be awarded with 2000 US Dollar together with a trophy and a certificate from FNF. The first and second runner-up will receive a trophy and a certificate from FNF.


Contact Information

For more information, please contact Aung Thu Hein +959420122490, or Khin Lutt Latt Tun +959421084558,


Award Nomination Form
vnd.openxmlformats-officedocument.wordprocessingml.document 16.75 KB


Award Announcement PDF Version
pdf 100.45 KB